Potty Time

2014-11-16 001 001
Ready to go 😉

You guessed it today is the day; we are starting potty training. We have been preparing for months. We got a potty chair tons of cute underwear, pull-ups and a Elmo DVD. I probably should have had her on the potty a long time ago but I didn’t. Call it lazy or stupid but I pushed it to the side until today.

I have been really thinking about it for a couple of weeks now and my decision was made this morning in the form of a diaper change. If you don’t like talking or reading about bowel movements maybe you should skip this one. I promise I won’t get too graphic. Anyway back to this morning. Avery was playing in our room off of the living room. It was supposed to be a place for our desk, husbands hunting stuff and just a odds and ends kinda room. It has become Avery’s toy room. I walked in there to see what she was up to when I got a whiff of what she was doing. OMG have you ever looked in your kids diaper and thought this belongs in a toilet? I did today. So upstairs I went to retrieve her potty chair and pull-ups.

Avery has been playing with this chair for a long time. It has a little button that you push when they actually go and it makes little princess noises. Not really sure how else to describe the noises. It’s a princess potty chair. Of course the button is exposed so she has been pressing it. She has also been showing what I think are signs of being ready. She is “aware” that she is going to the bathroom or at least I think so. She runs off and hides when she has to do a jobbie and you better not follow her. If you do you get the “glare”; she likes to have a little peace and quiet 😉

My biggest dilemma so far is I can’t decide whether to put her in pull-ups or just start with underwear. She really doesn’t care to wear diapers anymore; so I am thinking maybe if I put her underwear on she will do better. Another problem is our main bathroom is upstairs. You are probably thinking just put her in the downstairs bathroom dummy. Well the problem with that is the bathroom is extremely small. There is enough space to turn around and that is about it. I really don’t think the chair will even fit in there. This potty training thing is all new to me so any tips or advice are welcomed. I hear the “princess sounds” of the potty chair so we better get started. Wish us luck!!

2 thoughts on “Potty Time

Leave a Reply

