Ferberizing the “baby”

The past couple of weeks have been very exhausting. Between fighting off a cold/sinus infection that refuses to go away and Avery deciding that she would like her feet rubbed in the middle of the night I am a walking zombie. It seems like every time Avery sleeps I am awake with a cough or just a general feeling of crappiness. I cannot shake this cold for long so I am giving in and going to the Doctor tomorrow. I am sure I will find out I have some debilitating condition or cancer. Or the dreaded words “You have a virus.”

Let’s move on to Avery. Avery has this condition called I like to mess with my parents. For the past week or so off and on she has been running into our room in the early morning hours and wants us to rub her feet, hold her hand and general cuddling. The first couple of nights I fell for it. Of course I was thinking things like maybe she is sick or her stomach hurts. Then I got wise to her scheme. It happened one night as we were laying on the couch and I was trying to get her to go back to sleep. I turned on Modern Family because I was sick of listening to the clock tick. (We always end up with really loud clocks) I so happened to turn on the episode where Mitchell and Cam are “ferberizing” the baby. (Letting the baby cry it out) In the episode Mitchell is pretty much forcing Cam to do this while Cam lays sobbing in bed listening to Lily cry. I would do the same thing when we tried to let Avery cry it out before. There were other scenes in the episode that resonated with me. Like Cam sitting up with Lily and watching t.v. Ahem. So I decided it was time to “ferberize” my “baby” Avery was put in bed with her nightlight on gave her Deema doll and shut the door. She proceeded to cry like we were pulling her fingernails off one at a time. This went on for about an hour or so. She would take small breaks and I could hear books being looked through and toys being played with. Then she decided to try and violently open her door. She is not quite strong enough yet to open the door but she will twist and turn the handle like a mad woman. That drove me insane so I went downstairs. The noise must have finally woke husband up because he came running downstairs desperate for a nuk. In the past he has been the one that wanted Avery to cry it out but I guess he changed his tune. So he sat up and rubbed her feet and did all of the other things that she needed to fall back asleep. Blurg. Now they are both against me. Fast forward a couple of nights and we are back in the same boat. But this time something magical happened. I put Avery in her room and she actually fell asleep. I woke up a couple of hours later in amazement that she was still sleeping. I really thought I had something until this morning. Avery woke up just in time for what she thought would be a spa day/night. You know getting her feet rubbed, etc. I had other plans. Avery went back into her bedroom where I thought she would be a good little girl and fall asleep to the trance of her nightlight. Not so fast mom. It was the whole crying scene over again topped off with trying to escape her bedroom jail. Finally it was time for me to get up anyway so I paid the price and bailed her out of her bedroom jail.

You would think this is where out story ends but it’s only just beginning folks. I am still going to try and “ferberize” the “baby” but with a twist. I am going to exhaust her until she can’t keep her little eyes open anymore. My first step was to take her to the arboretum this morning for her first official hike. We had a lot of fun and she started yawning half-way through the hike. Score! Well, it wasn’t much of a hike but I have to say she did really good and had lots of fun 🙂 I guess you will have to stay tuned for tonight’s results.

IMG_20150413_091801 IMG_20150413_091925 IMG_20150413_092420 IMG_20150413_092547

6 thoughts on “Ferberizing the “baby”

  1. Glad you enjoyed your hike in the Arbouratem!! Some of my favorite Jake and Mommy times so far. If you’ve got a trick to getting past the bridges let me know. 😊 If you think they look especially clean, you can thank my son…he’s been getting a little hung up cleaning all the leaves off them for the last few weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We did have a lot of fun! Avery got tired at the end so me and my dad had to carry her. Those bridges…. Avery wanted to jump in the water lol. I did notice they were very clean 😉 We will definitely be going again!

      Like

    1. I did crack last night but I think it was out of pure exhaustion lol. She is one tough cookie but tonight we are going to try it again. I am also going to switch up her nap schedule or maybe eliminate naps altogether. As much as I love nap time a full nights sleep trumps a nap 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

