Snowshoeing

Winter is here. Blah. The snow is pretty but it’s a lot prettier on December 20 than it is on November 14. We had our first snowstorm Tuesday; luckily it wasn’t as bad as they were predicting for our area but I think we got enough. Of course it rained before it snowed. Another cruel joke by mother nature.

On Saturday personal trainer and I hurried out for our last hike of the season. If you ask us it was a three-mile hike. If you ask my fitness app it was nine miles and we burned 1,200 calories. My app would not pause or turn off so it recorded our hike and most of our drive home. UGH! Besides the technology error it was a good hike. No mice or cougars were spotted but I did see a place where cougars could hide very easily and stalk me if I looked good enough to eat.

I was sad to think our hikes were coming to an end when personal trainer invited me on a new adventure. Snowshoeing!! With a new adventure comes a new fear, bobcats. Yikes! I guess I kinda forgot about them but I was reminded with a picture I saw on Facebook. A good thing about winter is things are more visible. So if I am being stalked by a predator whether it be human or animal I will be able to see them better.

Today was the big day, my first snowshoeing experience. I really thought I would be writing this post from the ER because I had broken limbs but I am sitting very comfortably on my couch. Yay me!! Anyway, personal trainer arrived at 9:30 to watch Avery so I could try snowshoeing. I borrowed his in case I did get scarred for life and didn’t want to go again. After a couple of tutorials on how to put them on I was off to my favorite hiking destination. I parked and got out of my car fully confident I could strap these things to my boots. I was wrong once again. I had a hard time getting the dang things to strap on. I think I got more of a workout trying to get them on then actually snowshoeing. There I was bent over in the parking lot when suddenly I realized my back was really cold. My lower back actually if you catch my drift. So there I was bent over in a parking lot on a busy highway with my lower back hanging out. One positive for me is that my pants are too big for me. One negative for the unsuspecting motorists traveling today was they had to see my lower back. I should tell everyone that hasn’t been snowshoeing before that getting them on isn’t that hard. I am just not really good at anything πŸ˜‰

On to the actual snowshoeing. I really enjoyed it. It was so nice to get out after being cooped up in the house this past week. I was still scared of predators and of clumsiness but other than that it was great. I had planned on having my iPod with to listen to some Rhi Rhi and my other workout jams but after the struggle getting the dang snowshoes on, I realized Rhi Rhi had to stay in the car. Too dangerous for a first time snowshoe r. Of course I snapped some pics of my adventure today. I was a little nervous to go off the beaten path to get some really good pics but I ended up getting off of the path without realizing it. I have a wonderful sense of direction πŸ˜‰ If you are thinking about snowshoeing I would highly recommend it. It’s a great workout during the winter when you get sick of the elliptical or treadmill.

2014-11-08 002 001
Hiking almost a week ago πŸ™‚
2014-11-14 001 003
Snowshoes!!
2014-11-14 001 004
Love listening to the river run πŸ™‚
2014-11-14 001 001
Hard to believe a week ago there was no snow 😦
2014-11-14 001 002
Beautiful morning πŸ˜€

 

 

Leave a Reply

