Casserole Queen: I <3 Corn Edition

With winter weather upon us in Wisconsin I have been whipping up some more casseroles and I would love to share these two with you. The first one is an easy weeknight meal and the second is easy but it’s more for a weekend meal because of the bake time. Unless you are one of those lucky people who gets done with work in the early afternoon šŸ™‚ I also wanted to share my love of corn. Best vegetable ever!! It is always a bonus when I get to add corn to my casseroles.

The first is Corn Casserole. I just love this one, it is so easy and you usually have leftovers because it makes so much. Just always remember to put the corn in. One time husband was nice enough to make supper and he made this recipe. He forgot to put the corn in. I was having a bad day and when I discovered there wasn’t any corn in the casserole I may have overreacted. I said “You forgot the corn?!?!” “It’s called CORN Casserole!!” Needless to say I still get picked on for my little outburst šŸ˜‰

Corn Casserole

1 pound hamburger

1 package cream cheese

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can corn (or half package of frozen corn)

1/2 package Elbow Macaroni (you can easily add a little more if you would like)

1 cup milk

Top with bread crumbs

Brown hamburger and boil noodles. While this is happening I soften my cream cheese and mix my other ingredients together minus the bread crumbs. I always soften my cream cheese because if I don’t I feel like my arm is going to fall off when I mix it in. You can butter your bread crumbs if you would like. I am a little too lazy to do that but I imagine it would be very good šŸ™‚ After the hamburger and noodles are ready you can mix everything together and sprinkle the bread crumbs on top. I put this in a 9×13 pan and bake for 30 minutes at 350.

Hamburger Bake

1 pound hamburger

6 potatoes

1 can vegetable beef soup

1 can cream of mushroom soup

That’s it šŸ™‚

Peel and cut up your potatoes and lay them out in your casserole pan. (Do not boil them) Next break up your uncooked hamburger onto the potatoes. Then spread both soups over the hamburger and bake for two hours at 350. (You can check it at 1 1/2 hours) When it’s done it tastes like it was in the crock pot all day. I of course add corn but you could do so much more with this recipe if you want to. Sorry I don’t have a picture of this one šŸ˜¦ Use caution when buying beef vegetable soup. One time I bought vegetable soup with alphabet noodles and didn’t realize it until I found an A on my plate šŸ˜‰

I hope you enjoy these if you try them!! If you add anything fun or have any suggestions let me know!

2014-11-16 002 003
Corn casserole before
2014-11-16 002 004
Corn casserole after
Leave a Reply

