Is this really Christmas?

I have been thinking about this post all day and I have finally gathered up the courage to write it. There have been a few of my posts that I have a small panic attack when I hit publish. I really don’t mean to offend anyone by my posts but I do try to say how I really feel. I am moonlighting at personal trainers because I didn’t want to rethink writing this anymore so I hopped off of the elliptical and here we are.With all of that being said here goes nothing.

As I watch all of the black Friday sales being released I sit back and think why in the world would I want to go out and possibly get trampled just for a gift. I have never been black Friday shopping and maybe I am just too lazy to go. The thought of hundreds of people running to get 50 t.v.’s does not appeal to me. I would rather be curled up on the couch watching White Christmas. I tried to participate in cyber Monday and ended up deleting my cart cause it took to long. Maybe I don’t have the patience. I like to save money as much as the next person but I am not going to leave the comfort of my home or my Thanksgiving dinner to go save a little cash. I also have a very big love for shopping but it ain’t gonna pull me away from that turkey.

Another piece of this Christmas puzzle that has been on my mind is the money being spent on it. Maybe it’s because funds are a little sketchy right now after some car repairs. Or maybe I have finally had enough of the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping. I have been out a couple of times already and let me tell ya it’s a jungle out there. Everyone is super crabby; employees, fellow shoppers and me. Carts are being crammed into aisles and shelves are being wiped out. Of course I want to be able to get my daughter and step-son the things they want and need but should I really go broke for it? I would never want them to feel worry about money or anything like that when they are children but should I teach them it is okay to go into debt for some toys? I am guilty of overspending in the past and going way overboard on Christmas shopping. But this year I just really don’t want to.

When I was little there were a couple of things that I looked forward to about Christmas. Of course toys was one but I also looked forward to seeing all of my cousins and the Christmas eve program at my church. I loved getting all dressed up, doing the program and the candlelit service. After church we would get brown paper bags with popcorn balls, peanuts and some other candy. I loved getting that bag. If you asked me today what I got for Christmas when I was five I wouldn’t have a clue but I still remember sitting in that church and enjoying that service.

To me Christmas is about family and of course the big reason for the season. I don’t make it to church every Sunday and I probably don’t go as much as I should but I want my daughter to know what Christmas is about. It’s not about spending your whole paycheck and maxing out your credit cards. It’s about celebrating a very important Birthday and spending it with those you love. To me that is really Christmas.

5 thoughts on “Is this really Christmas?

  1. I am with you!! No way do I want to participate in black Friday! That is not what Christmas is about! Keep the memories as the most important, but don’t get caught up in the shopping because it’s what we are supposed to do.. focus on the real meaning. I think your right on!

    Like

  2. Well said Autumn – Amen. My best memories are the Christmas eve program and bag of treats. Ours were usually peanuts, popcorn ball and either an orange or an apple. Family and celebrating the birth of our Savior lasts…..other gifts fade and eventually break or are given away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

