Ferberizaton Update

Looking back I realize I am not the best on updating about previous posts and such so I am going to do a little update on the ferberization situation or sleep-gate as I like to call it. I will throw in a couple other updates as well.

We are well into our ferberizing. It is not going well. Avery did sleep a good five hours before she woke up last night wanting to do her normal spa routine. As ‘Won’t Get Fooled Again” played in my head Avery was placed into her own warm snuggly bed and I retreated back to mine. To say she was upset is an understatement. There were books a flyin’ and words being said under her breath. I held strong until I had to get up and then she was released from bedroom jail. Much to her surprise she was not going back to bed but she was going downstairs to start her day. Another part of my evil ferberization plan. As of right now we are working on early naps before I cut them out completely. I am just not sure Avery is truly ready to go without a nap. If she doesn’t get her nap in she crashes out at 5:00 p.m. and then it really does get to be a late night so I am going to try napping around 11:30. We have also been spending tons of time outside and I think that does help too. The arboretum helped in getting her to sleep. Which was great but it only worked for the afternoon nap so I think we will try going in the evening. After we had been home for a little while from the arboretum Avery started pulling and itching her left ear. Great, during ferberization I gave her an ear infection. Then of course other absurd thoughts came into my head like she had some weird bug in her ear that was on its way to her brain. You know, totally logical things that could happen on an innocent hike. Luckily it was just a lot of wax. For some reason she had tons of it even though I had just cleaned her ears the day before. So to recap on the sleeping we are looking for a little more of this at night

2014-12-17 001 002

And a little less of this at night

2014-10-23 001 002

As much as I love that little face I need some sleep! Speaking of sleep for me I did find out that I have a sinus infection which is causing me to feel extra tired. Great. Better than the alternative though. So now I am on antibiotics and some new to me allergy med that has a decongestant so if some of this doesn’t make sense it is due to that. I get so loopy sometimes on cold meds it is crazy. So far this one hasn’t been too bad.  While I was at the clinic I was pleasantly surprised by the fact they were having a book fair. It definitely was my lucky day. I picked up some books for Avery and some books for one of the gift baskets I am going to do for the pig roast. I will definitely post pictures of the baskets when I finish them up. I also learned I lost one pound. Not sure how that happened because I definitely haven’t been full strength on the workout train lately. Between sleep-gate and my sinuses I just haven’t been working out as much as I would like to. But I am getting back to full strength because personal trainer wants to do a 5k this summer. Yikes! I am excited and nervous. I will be really happy if I make it through without being hauled off on a stretcher. Not because I think I can’t do it (well, maybe a little) but I am so accident prone. Stayed tuned for that one. I will either be posting a picture of me smiling or me loaded up into an ambulance.

Wish us luck with sleep-gate. I think we need it 😉 If you have any magical tips or tricks I would love to hear them. I feel like we have tried everything….

2 thoughts on “Ferberizaton Update

  1. LM started sleeping better once he got into his own bed–a regular twin bed. I think it was a lot more comfy for him, plus we could lay down with him for a bit if needed (couldn’t quite do that in the crib or toddler bed haha). Now the girl is another story…almost 10 months old and we are trying very hard to transition her from the swaddle and Rock n play cradle to the crib, but she isn’t having it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was hoping that would be the case with Avery but she still gets up even though she is in a twin bed 😦 I am thinking maybe it’s a phase. According to my parents I was a horrible sleeper so I am guessing she is like me. I am pretty sure they think this is payback 😉 We had an awful time getting Avery out of her swing. Finally she just outgrew it. I hope it goes better for you 🙂 Avery is so stubborn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

