How are they going to know how to act unless you show them?

Today was one of those days with Avery if you know what I mean. It started out great and turned into frustrating soon after. It started when she refused to nap. Husband took her upstairs to nap and she refused to lay down so he decided to let her chill for a little bit in her room hoping she would calm down and fall asleep. We really wanted her to nap cause step-son had a chorus concert this afternoon and we wanted to have a nice time. I know it sounds silly or maybe even stupid to think that could happen with a toddler but we had high hopes. Anyway, it took about two minutes before we heard a crash and something shattering. We both ran into her room to find Avery in a pile of books with her piggy bank smashed on the floor. Thank gosh she was okay and the piggy bank was ceramic not glass. I am still trying to figure out how she got the piggy bank but like I have said before she is like she-ra.  That should have been a clue right there that one of us should have stayed home with her. Instead like two silly people we took Avery out in public.

We get to the concert and it is packed. They were even putting out extra chairs in front of the stage because the bleachers were full. At first we sat in the bleachers but then I got to thinking that maybe we should sit in the chairs so if Avery did get really naughty I could exit quickly. So down to the chairs we went. Before the concert even started Avery got mad because we wouldn’t let her run all over the place like a wild monkey. So I took her out in the hall for what I thought would be a short break and then we would be back in. I was so wrong. Every time  we got close to the gym Avery wanted to run in there and dance her heart out and if I grabbed her hand or tried to pick her up she would scream like I was hurting her. So we walked the halls instead. The whole time I was thinking “Why do I even leave my house?” and “I should have just stayed home with her.” I was getting more and more frustrated the more we walked. Then Avery found an open door. Ugh! She ran into someone’s office that was doing some work at their desk. By the time I got to her she was already climbing on one of the chairs in front of the desk ready to make a new friend. Thankfully he thought it was funny and cute and we quickly left him to his work. By the time I finally got Avery back into the gym we got to hear one song and the concert was over. When we were walking back in I could feel eyes on us. All I could do was think how these people were probably wishing we weren’t coming back or how they probably heard us all of the times we had attempted to come back in. I was so embarrassed and even when we got home I was still thinking about it.

After getting home and stewing for a while I started to think back about a conversation I had with someone at the store. I ran into a gal that I used to work with and still talk to every time I see her. She was asking me where my little cutie was and I sighed and said “She’s at home; she is in a mood.” She replied “I always tell my daughter how are your kids supposed to know how to act if you don’t take them anywhere.” At the time I have to admit I was thinking you must be crazy if you think I am going to take Avery to the store if I don’t have to. But after today I realize she is so right. I have to admit I really don’t take Avery a lot of places and it shows when I do take her places. I know some of it is being a toddler and no one is perfect but I know if I did take her places more she probably would behave better. Not saying that I should have stayed in the gym with her while she was trying to have her own party but I think if I took her more places she would know how to behave better. I have really been trying to work on it lately but after today I know we have a long way to go. But I know we can get there. Maybe I sound silly or lazy that I don’t take Avery out as much as I should but I guess I just figured it was so much easier to run to the store when husband got home. I just always feel so bad when I get frustrated with Avery especially if we are out in public. Then I end up beating myself up about it. I kind of put it to myself like this now: 1. I want Avery to know how to behave better in public. 2. She has to learn that you have to do things even if you don’t want to. Another lesson taught to me by my two year-old. I never would have thought that after today I would end up thinking I need to take her out in public more but I am glad that I came to that realization 🙂

2014-12-14 001 002
Who wouldn’t want to take this sweet face in public 🙂
2014-12-17 001 002
Crashed after an outing. Another benefit of outings she gets sleepy 😉
2 thoughts on “How are they going to know how to act unless you show them?

  1. Bless your heart! Motherhood has it’s days doesn’t it! It is so very true though that if you do not take your kids places then they never learn how to behave. A lesson that I did not learn until I had my second child. I can take all three kids to the store and they act mostly well, besides all the I want this and I want that of course, hope you get some rest tonight 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

