From the kitchen of the casserole queen: A little spice

I am not much for spicy food. I like to taste food without my eyes watering and instant nausea. Some people love spicy foods. These two recipes I am going to share with you can be spiced up more than I have them. I am not sure if you can spice them down because I have them about as mild as humanly possible πŸ˜‰ The first is a wonderful dip that I get tons of compliments on every time I make it and the second is you guessed it a casserole.

Spicy Hamburger Dip

1 pound hamburger

1 jar Cheez Whiz

1/2 jar Pace Picante Sauce

1/2 package taco seasoning

Tortilla chips

When I brown my hamburger I sprinkle the taco seasoning right on and fry them together. Then I dump my jar of Cheez Whiz in a microwavable container and put it in the microwave for 1 minute or until it’s soft. When the hamburger is brown I mix the Cheez Whiz, Pace and hamburger all together and that’s it! All done and ready to eat. Super easy and you will get tons of compliments. This is also easy to spice up if you are lovin that spice. I use mild Pace Picante sauce but you can go up on the heat with that. I actually use my venison hamburger to make this dip and nobody knows it’s venison πŸ˜‰

Enchilada Casserole

1 1/2 pounds hamburger

6 Soft Tortilla Shells

1 jar Taco Sauce (I use Ortega)

1 cup cheddar cheese

1 cup mozzarella cheese

1 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon Garlic Salt

While you are frying the hamburger sprinkle the garlic salt on top of the hamburger. I always spray my casserole pan with this casserole because you don’t want the shells to stick to the pan. (I actually always spray my pans) With this recipe I use a 9×13 casserole pan. After the hamburger is browned pour half of the hamburger on the bottom of the pan. Then put half of the sour cream and taco sauce on top. I just plop the sour cream on and spread it around with a spoon and pour the taco sauce on top. Next sprinkle some of both cheeses on top. Cover the top with 3 tortilla shells. (You can use your best judgement with the shells and cheese; if you think it only needs two shells go for it) Then repeat with the next layer. Kinda like lasagna. After that next layer put three shells on top and sprinkle more cheese on top. I always make sure the top layer of shells completely covers the second layer of hamburger mixture. Pop it in the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes. This is another one that you can totally change for taste. you can make it spicier and even add (gasp) vegetables. If I had an adventurous family of eaters I would totally fry up some peppers and throw them in. The last time I made this I did not have taco sauce and they only had really spicy stuff at the store so I used Pace Picante sauce and it turned out really good. Husband did not think so. I gave some leftovers to personal trainer and he loved it! I always have leftovers with this recipe because it makes so much.

As always if you try these recipes let me know what you think or if you added a wonderful little ingredient let me know so I can try! I could try to get a test family that actually enjoys the adventurous side of food and feed it to them πŸ˜‰

2014-12-14 002 001
Hamburger dip!!!!!
2014-12-16 001 001
Enchilada Casserole (with Pace Picante sauce)
Leave a Reply

