From the kitchen of the casserole queen: Potato Soup Edition

It’s been a while since I have done a recipe post. Someone informed me that my recipe posts are not my best work. That person shall remain nameless (husband) Anyway, we are finally back on track with our furnace after three days in a row of messing with it. Must be that third time is a charm thing because this morning we woke up with heat and it was wonderful. I am not sure who it affected most but if I had to guess I would say Percy. He has been a mess since the whole furnace debacle. Luckily the gentlemen that worked on it on Saturday didn’t mind having a slightly overweight cat supervising him. The basement is Percy’s layer and he was sick of sharing it. I told the guy that he could move Percy or let me know and I would remove him. I guess he did it himself because Percy was full of black fingerprints 😉

Percy Cold edited

Anyway with all of this cold weather I have really been wanting some soup; so I decided to whip up some potato soup in the crock pot today. It is super easy and so good. Of course there are always plenty of leftovers so you can get out of cooking during the week. This would be one that you could start before work and finish when you get home because it can spend some time in the crock pot without overcooking. Even in my super-human crock pot I have never had a problem. This is a super easy recipe to add ingredients to and as always not very time-consuming.

7 potatoes peeled and diced

2 carrots peeled and diced

5 cups of Chicken Broth

1 Bay Leaf

1 tablespoon Parsley

1 package Cream Cheese

6 strips of cooked bacon

First peel and slice your potatoes and carrots. Throw them in the crock pot on low with the chicken broth, bay leaf and parsley. I leave it in the crock pot for at least six hours if not longer. Today I had it in the crock pot for seven hours and it tasted great! When the time is up put a softened package of cream cheese in the crock pot and stir. After the cream cheese goes in it is bacon time. Then you are set to enjoy this creamy goodness! I have added my favorite food in the whole world, corn to this recipe and it was divine 🙂

A little known fact about me I am terrified of getting things in my eyes. I used to wear sunglasses every time I fried bacon for fear of grease getting in my eyes. I would still wear them but someone gives me grief about it (husband) Ah the things we do for love 😉

I hope you enjoy this recipe and as always if you do try this warm creamy goodness let me know what you think!

Potato Soup editedPotato soup in crock pot edited

Leave a Reply

