From the kitchen of the casserole queen: For the love of cheese

If you don’t know already I live in Wisconsin. Does this mean I was born with a block of cheese in my hand? Pretty much. There are a lot of stereotypes about Wisconsinites and most of them are probably true. The truest for me is my love of cheese. What better way to express my love of cheese to you than by sharing two of my favorite cheesy casseroles! These are both easy weeknight meals that can be altered to taste. Just so you know I make up the names of these casseroles as I go along πŸ˜‰

Cheesy Hamburger Noodle Casserole

1 pound hamburger

1 cup cheese

1/2 bag of egg noodles

1 can mushrooms

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1/2 onion chopped

The prep is going to go really fast. Not that I think you can’t go fast but I want to give you a heads up. I actually start off by frying my hamburger because egg noodles seem to cook so fast. Then it’s on to the onion. I sautee the onion in a separate pan from the hamburger and at the end I dump the mushrooms in with the onion. While all of this exciting stuff is going on I boil my noodles. After everything is done on the stove top I mix all of the ingredients together in a 9×13 casserole pan except for the cheese. I shred my cheese right on top of everything after it is mixed up and then I pop it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes. I do cover this and pretty much all of my casseroles with tin foil. After it’s all done get ready for some cheesy goodness πŸ™‚

Cheesy Italian Bake

1 pound hamburger

1 cup sour cream

1 jar spaghetti sauce (I usually use a marinara or more of a plain sauce)

1/2 box Rotini noodles

1 can mushrooms

1 cup mozzarella cheese

Dash of Oregano

Dash of Parsley

First off boil the noodles and fry the hamburger. While you are doing that you can mix the rest of the ingredients (minus the cheese)Β  in a 9×13 casserole pan. I usually season my meat with Oregano and Parsley and then add a little more to the mixture in the pan.Β  Add the hamburger, noodles and a little cheese and then mix together. After that sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top and pop it in the oven; covered at 350 for about 40 minutes. This recipe usually makes a lot so you should have plenty for leftovers.

I hope you enjoy these recipes and as always if you have any questions, comments or add something to make it better let me know πŸ™‚

2014-12-11 001 001
Cheesy Italian Bake
2014-12-08 002 001
Cheesy Hamburger Bake

 

 

Leave a Reply

