From the kitchen of the casserole Queen: Venison Edition

Today marks the last day of hunting season. If you would have asked me ten years ago if I cared I would have said nope. When I met my husband I did not eat red meat or ham. Still don’t eat ham (bad ham sandwich once) It got kinda sketchy when we started eating meals together. Obviously by the title of this post he hunts so he is into eating red meat. Eventually I gave in and started eating red meat again. I even help wrap it and grind it up if necessary.  I have never participated in hunting yet. Not sure if I ever will because sitting in a stand all day isn’t up my alley. I would maybe consider it if squirrels were the animals being hunted. To me squirrels are rats with fluffy tails.

Present day I am listening to the hum of our meat grinder and loving it cause that means we will have hamburger in the freezer. It is so nice to go in the freezer and get some venison hamburger out. You are probably wondering if it has a gamey taste. It doesn’t as long as you mix it with beef when you grind it up. (We try to do half and half and we use beef roasts) I wouldn’t suggest using it for burgers on the grill but for casseroles, chili and spaghetti it is great. It is very lean too. We also cut up tenderloins and I love to use them in the crock pot. You are probably thinking “Wait you are the casserole queen what are you doing using the crock-pot?” I do like to dabble in the crock-pot and these tenderloins are wonderful after they spend some time in the crock-pot. Of course I am going to share the recipe with you but unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the finished product. I am a blogging newbie especially with the pics 😉 Very easy recipe and it doesn’t taste gamey at all because of the ingredients.  I am also going to share a chicken casserole recipe for those that don’t like venison.

Venison Tenderloins in the Crock-Pot (I don’t have a name for it really)

1 pound tenderloin

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can french onion soup

1 can golden mushroom soup

1 can mushrooms

1 cup bread crumbs

I cut up the tenderloins (smaller than what they already are) before I put them in and then I mix everything else together including the bread crumbs. If you want to you could use fresh mushrooms. I would suggest frying them up a little before putting them in. I leave it in the crock-pot for six hours and serve it over noodles. I cook it on low because my crock-pot is crazy and it cooks everything really hot. I would try it on low first because you don’t want to lose your liquid and have tough tenderloins.  It is very good and easy to double. I have doubled the meat before and I only added an extra can of cream of mushroom.

 

Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole

1 package of chicken breast

1 box of wild rice

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can of mushrooms (again you can use fresh)

1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese on top

I fry my chicken first cause you know how I feel about chicken not being done 😉 While I am fryin’ that chicken up I make the wild rice according to the directions on the box. Then you can mix it all together and put your cheese on top. Once you mix the ingredients together if it looks a little dry I just add some milk. Then pop it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes.

I hope you all enjoy these recipes as much as we do! If you add anything fun let me know so I can try 🙂

 

2014-11-30 001 001
Meat in the freezer 😀

 

 

2014-11-18 001 001
Chicken and wild rice casserole 🙂 This time I used marble cheese. Very good!

 

Leave a Reply

