Big girl bed and potty training; I must be crazy?

We are moving into our second week of potty training and the end of our first month in the big girl bed. The more literature I read I am understanding it is not recommended to do both at the same time. I am starting to understand why.

After many attempts of going on the big potty Sunday we had success. Not only did we have a number one but we had a number two as well. I was so excited I wanted to take a picture! (I decided against it) So Avery got a star on her potty chart, a big hug and kiss from her momma and her potty made the princess noises. Avery could have cared less. She pulled up her pants and walked away still checking her emails on her Leap Frog laptop. I didn’t let that deter me; I was on the horn telling tons of people how Avery went on the potty and what a good girl she is. Fast-forward two days and we are back on the potty. We have sat since but no dice until today. I could tell it was going to happen and I was super excited until I peeked in the bathroom; there was Avery with her laptop and a pile of poop on the floor. She had dropped her laptop so she hopped off the potty and I am assuming while she was picking it up she pooped on the floor. Ugh! I did get her back on in time for her to finish her duty on the potty. (Does that get a half star then?) I do blame myself because I should have been in there with her but of course I just wanted to finish up washing a couple of dishes and I could still see her from the kitchen so I thought that would be good enough.So again my bragging about my child totally came back to haunt me. (You would think I would learn my lesson) I guess it could have been worse and I am assuming more jobbies will end up on the floor. She did seem disturbed that her poop was on the floor so maybe she will let the laptop go next time until she is done.

The big girl bed has been going better than I thought but we have been having some hiccups. It seems like Avery likes to crawl in bed with us around 3:00 or 4:00 a.m. every other night or so. I also have a problem not falling asleep in her bed. Last night I was so tired when I put her to bed that I think I fell asleep in there. I am pretty sure I did anyway. I vaguely remember getting up and going to our bed in the middle of the night. Unless I was sleep walking or dreaming which we all know how vivid and realistic my dreams are so it could have very well been a dream. Then my worry always has to kick in. I sit and wonder “Is she still breathing” “Is she warm enough?” Then I have to go and check. After I am done shining my phone on her to see if she is breathing and tucking the blankets around her one more time; I am surprised she is still sleeping through all of my poking and prodding.

Before we started any of this business we talked about doing one at a time. We both decided on the big girl bed first because we were sick of getting pelted with tiny fists and feet every night. But then I started to realize that Avery needed to sit on that potty and I didn’t want to miss my window. She does seem “aware” that she is going potty and she does not want any of that poopy business in her diaper. I am hoping that this works out and we can just do both at the same time. I knew there would be trials and tribulations with both (especially potty training) so I better just stock up on Lysol wipes and dive in. Am I crazy? I probably am but if I can be done with diapers and get some sleep I will be a very happy crazy person 🙂

2014-11-25 001 001
I gave her the full star, at least she was in the vicinity of the potty 😉
4 thoughts on “Big girl bed and potty training; I must be crazy?

  1. Do you have a video monitor for averys room? It’s been my saving grace for nights with Jake. Any gadget that helps me get sleep is totally worth the investment. Hope you get some sleep and stars soon 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

