From the kitchen of the casserole queen

My husband calls me the casserole queen because he claims that is pretty much all I make for supper. I can’t help it they are so easy and good 🙂 I do not claim to be a professional, but I do enjoy getting in my kitchen and whippin up something good to eat. On the menu tonight is tuna noodle casserole. I love tuna noodle casserole. Making supper can be such a pain in the bun after a long day out in the world so I like to come up with meals that don’t take so long to prep and use a small amount of dishes. (Not that I invented tuna casserole) Most of my meals I have to alter because some people here are kinda picky 😉 Since I am in a sharing type of mood I am going to share one of my fav’s.

But first I want to tell the story of when I cooked for husband for the first time. I had not really entered the wide world of cooking yet so I had not idea what I was doing. I decided I was going to make chicken breasts. I don’t even remember how they tasted. Probably not good; I don’t even think I seasoned them. Out of the package and into the oven they went. Three naked little chicken breasts in one of husbands manly casserole pans with a manly glass lid. (Not sure where he got the casserole pan and lid from.) They probably got overcooked because I was and still am scared of food poisoning. Chicken can be a cruel mistress if you don’t cook it long enough. After the tanned chicken breasts came out of the oven I took the glass cover off of the casserole pan and decided it would be a good idea to rinse the cover. I turned on the faucet to cold and put the cover underneath that nice cool water. Then bam, the glass cover exploded into tiny pieces. Cooking tip #1 don’t rinse anything that is glass with cold water when it is still hot. Husband said the look on my face was priceless. I just stood over the sink with my mouth wide open. I am really surprised that I didn’t get a piece of glass lodged in my eye or my throat since my mouth was open. I now can say tin foil is one of my bff’s in the kitchen. Anyway, let’s get to the cheesy goodness of my tuna noodle casserole 😀

Tuna Noodle Casserole

1 box Rotini noodles (or any kind you have)

2 cans of tuna

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

1 cup of milk

1 1/2 cups of cheddar cheese (or more)

1 cup of Corn Flakes for the top of this cheesy goodness

I boil my noodles before I add them to the casserole. Some people don’t, I have never had a problem so you can do whatever makes you feel comfortable. Mix the first four ingredients together and top with cheese. Then pour those Corn Flakes all over that wonderful creation. Now if you wanted to get wild and crazy you can use potato chips for your topper and put peas (yuck) in with your casserole. I swear I am not the picky one but I do hate peas. I prefer to have some corn with my tuna casserole. I don’t actually put the corn inside of the casserole; I spoon it on top but you don’t have to eat like me 😉 Then pop that baby in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes. After it’s all said and done your prep time is pretty much as long as it takes your noodles to boil and how long it takes you dump everything in a pan. The dishes you use are one pan, one strainer, one pot and one can-opener.  Easy prep easy clean-up 🙂 This recipe feeds three but it is totally easy to double and add to. I know this sounds like a no-brain er supper but it tastes soooo good. It’s one of those that if you forget to pull something out for supper and you think “Oh well we will just have something easy” and then you get the LOOK when supper isn’t ready; you can whip it up faster than the WORDS come out of the snarky person that started the whole dang thing. Since I actually made this wonderful little dish tonight I will share some pics. Now don’t judge me; I didn’t put a piece of grass on top or whatever that stuff is to dress it up and I don’t have a kitchen that looks like it came off of Pinterest. I also used two different kinds of noodles cause I didn’t have enough of one kind. I was going to keep it a secret but you can totally tell in the picture. There is no cornflakes either because someone told me they “were over Corn Flakes” (Gosh maybe I should have waited to post this.) Here goes nothin’  If you try this recipe let me know what you think!

2014-11-06 001 003
Before oven
2014-11-06 001 004
After oven and on plate
Leave a Reply

