Toddler Strong

Today I got to spend some time with some of my fav little’s because there wasn’t school for our district. We got a new little today and we are very excited to be able to spend time with her. We had lots of fun getting to know each other and watched Tangled and played with Avery’s toys. Of course we fit in some time for crafts and then we went to the playground. We made some bottle cap magnets for the fridge. I think they turned out good the only thing I would do different is to paint them white first (kinda like a primer) so then you don’t have to do so many coats of paint.

When we got to the playground is when it hit the fan. We had been playing for a while and I noticed this big brown thing in Avery’s ear. I was trying to get it out when she started throwing a huge fit. Then her hat came off . So I was trying to get the brown thing out of her ear and the hat on and she was thrashing around like a fish out of water. I finally got the brown thing out and I was still trying with the hat when she arched her back and hit the ground. I was waiting for her head to spin around and green stuff to come out of her mouth like The Exorcist.  To the innocent bystander it probably looked like I pushed her down. She always has a way of making it look like I am abusive when she is throwing these fits. Did I mention the playground was at the school? Ugh and all of the teachers were there for end of quarter stuff so I am sure some of them witnessed this display. After we got the hat on I was trying to get her to the car when she started arching her back again and I almost dropped her. I was really surprised social services didn’t come squealing in the parking lot at this point. Now in the middle of the drama she did give me a hug but then realized we were still going to go home and started her fit again.

I never realized until today how strong Avery really is. She really was hard to control today. There was a point where I really didn’t think I would be able to hold onto her and since she refused to walk I didn’t really have any other choice. I have seen fits from her before but this one was a doozy. I am hoping this isn’t a sign of what is to come. It was pretty embarrassing especially since we were at the school. I can’t help but think this better not be a regular thing because I don’t know what to do. I mean is this normal?? Maybe I am over thinking it which is a trend with me. I hate to go with the old standby which is that she was tired. But she did take a nap about ten minutes after we got home so maybe that was some of it. I am really looking for some feedback on this one. Has anyone else had a similar experience? What did you do when it was happening? If you feel comfortable commenting please do or if you think I am just blowing the whole thing out of proportion let me know.  I can report that she is in a better mood now and is trying to hold my hand 🙂

2014-11-03 001 001
Before the blow out
2014-11-03 001 002
Bottle cap magnets 🙂
2 thoughts on “Toddler Strong

Leave a Reply

