The hardest job you will ever love

I hate to call parenting a job but I have been wracking my brain all day and I can’t think of another word so that’s that and a bag of chips. Anyway, in a previous post I said that Avery got a big girl bed. It is going okay but the other night was pretty rough. We went to bed around 8:00 and she finally fell asleep around 10:30. At about 10:40 she was up and on her way to our bed.  I intercepted her with one foot on the bed and we returned to her bed. At 3:00 a.m. I woke up I was still in Avery’s bed. Crap. Worst part about it was I woke up to Avery crawling over me to get out of her bed. Ugh. So we proceeded to the couch because at this point I was ready to try anything just to get some sleep. The couch didn’t work so I did what no parent should probably do according to the book of parenting. I put her in our bed. I know, I know it was wrong but I was soooo tired. I think I get one mommy point by leaving her in our bed alone until she fell asleep by herself. I did sneak in a couple of precious hours of snooze time on the couch. I am happy to report that the last two nights she has slept in her own bed and she also took a nap in there 🙂 It was so nice to sleep without a toddler kicking and hitting me. I know I am probably jinxing myself by talking about how she slept in her bed but I will take the chance.

When I found out I was pregnant I never would have guessed how hard it was to be a parent. The lack of sleep, the dirty factor, the things they don’t tell you about parenting etc. But I also never would have guessed how rewarding it would be either. Avery is a little behind in the talking area so I have been scouring the internet trying to find tips on helping her to talk. I came across this wonderful blog that gives tips and things on how to help your toddler to talk. One of the tips was to do board puzzles. So this morning we sat down and did some puzzles. When Avery started speeding through the puzzles and putting them back together I was so happy and excited! Not only for me but for her! She was so happy every time she would put a piece in and we would clap and say yay. It was so cool to see her learning so fast and what was even better was that I taught her. I have never been much of a teacher and was a little scared about that aspect of parenting but I swear kids are like an open canvas waiting to learn. (She has been playing with her puzzles for a while now but we really never sat down and focused just on them.) I also never knew how much my heart would just fill up with love for this little person at 3:00 a.m. when she reaches over and grabs my hand.  (I have always been the type of person that needed 12 hours of sleep a night at least  so if I like you at 3:00 a.m. after an hour of sleep you are pretty special) Now the other night things got kinda hairy, I will admit but when she slept in until 9:30 this morning I missed her. There are times when I think ugh I need a break. But when I do get a break about an hour into it I miss her and usually want to go home. Even though I hate when she is sick, I love all of the extra cuddles ❤ Last week she was not feeling well and had a fever so I put one of her little frog princess washcloths on her forehead and she fell asleep like that. It was so cute I wanted to take a picture but I didn’t dare because I wanted her to sleep. Every time I think gosh I just can’t love this little person more she holds my hand, learns something new or hugs my legs and then I realize I will always be able to love her more.

It seems like you could be on a good parenting high like no other and then you take your kids out in public and they’re like bam gotcha! Like when you take your child out in public and they throw a massive fit and run around like they belong in a zoo. Or when you run into someone and their child is roughly the same age as your child and they have to go on and on about how their child is so much more advanced then yours. I hate that!! I try not to let it bug me but it always does. All three have happened to me lately and it makes me want to stay home and order all of our groceries online so I never have to leave the house again. But then I realize it’s all part of the “job” I have to say this is the best “job” I have ever had. (If any of my past co-workers woke me up in the middle of the night one of us wouldn’t have made it until morning.) It’s the only one where the “person” or “people” you are working for kiss, hug and look up to you. I think one of the best things about the “job” is when Avery needs something and I am the only person she wants. If she is crying I am the one she wants, if she wants to cuddle or is tired it is only me that can do the job right. I love that! Not that I want her to cry or be in need but I think you get the picture. With every job there are things that a person dislikes and things a person likes. I can honestly say that with this “job” the likes turn into loves and the dislikes are easily and soon forgotten 🙂

Avery and her dolly ❤ She refused to fall asleep one night and then we came downstairs and she fell asleep on the floor with her dolly
Leave a Reply

