Big girl bed :0

The time has come Avery has finally gotten her big girl bed. Not that she has spent a lot of time in it but it’s there. I had high hopes for her new bed but those got dashed at 12:30 a.m. Sunday morning. All of a sudden I was awakened by little feet and crying. I think she was pretty appalled to wake up in her bed.

I guess I have a confession. I have been letting Avery sleep with us. There I said it. Do I feel better? Not really. It all started when she started getting teeth. Before those stupid teeth she was a great sleeper. She would fall asleep by herself all the time. I could actually lay her down when she was still awake and she would put herself to sleep. I think I jinxed us because I bragged too much. I am sure people wanted to slap me when I would say things like “My daughter is such a good sleeper, she sleeps all night.” I saw the eye rolls but I chose to ignore them. Maybe people went home and thought to themselves I hope that little girl quits sleeping so that lady would shut up. Well their wish came true.

At first it wasn’t too bad cause she would sleep in her swing. But the catch to that was her swing was in the living room so one of us would sleep on the couch. At first it was like a t.v. lovers dream. Golden Girls, That 70’s show and tons of my other favs. I would stay up late soaking up all of that t.v. goodness ❤ But then I woke up one day and my back was killing me, then it was my neck and then well you get the picture; I felt like I was 103 years old. So we tried putting her in her crib. I think she really did laugh at us when we did that. She cried so hard one night she puked. Then we sold our house (thank God, we had the worst neighbors ever!!) and we moved into a rental for the winter until we found a house. Our rental was very small so I felt more comfortable leaving her in the swing in the living room when we were asleep in the bedroom. After about a month in the rental she outgrew her swing. I think she actually broke it because she was way to big to be in there. That is how we ended up in our current situation.

Back to the present. We are three nights into the big girl bed. First night she was in her bed sleeping for four wonderful hours:) Second night she laid in bed for two hours until I gave up and laid with her on the couch until she fell asleep. She did have a stuffy nose and fever so I did feel bad for her. Tonight will be the third night. I am hoping for the best but preparing for the worst. She did surprise me today by falling asleep on the couch by herself for a nap so maybe we will have a good night 🙂

One thing I wasn’t prepared for was my reaction to the big girl bed. I have been dreaming about the day she slept in her own bed for months. I had plans like reading, writing and of course t.v. watching. When my dream came true and she fell asleep in her own bed I cried for about 15 minutes. Ugh! I am not sure why but her whole little life so far started flashing before my eyes and then thoughts of the future. I had her married off with her own kids in about five minutes after she fell asleep. I kept thinking oh my gosh she doesn’t need me anymore. Wow was I crazy!! Maybe I should have listened to “Let It Go” a couple of times. When I came down the stairs sobbing I think husband thought I was nuts 😉 So I pulled myself together and enjoyed some 48 Hours Mystery before I fell asleep. Which totally backfired because I ended up having a nightmare that the murderer on the show was chasing me and I had to call 911. Normally I would just keep this to myself but I woke husband up by yelling out “He’s coming” and “11 Center st.” in my sleep so I guess the jig is up. I am assuming I was on the phone with 911 at the time so that’s where the “He’s coming” is from and 11 Center st. is our old address. I can’t even sleep without embarrassing myself.

Wish us luck tonight! I know it is going to take Avery a while to transition into a new bed but I am hoping for smooth sailing 🙂 Maybe by the time she is 16 she will be in her own room 🙂

2014-10-27 001 002
Avery during her nap today. She fell asleep doing some work on her laptop 🙂
2014-10-27 001 003
Deep sleep 😉
2014-10-27 001 006
Percy being a jerk and sitting on Avery’s couch that folds out into a bed. I was hoping she would take naps on it not him. He is lucky he is so fluffy 😉
2 thoughts on “Big girl bed :0

  1. Haha, too funny! It’s a mom’s world, right? 🙂 My daughter started co-sleeping with me but eventually went to her crib and became the best sleeper ever. Then, we made the very bad transition to the big girl bed. She has not spent an entire night in it yet and it is going on 10 months! I too believe that by 16 yrs. we will have overcome. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

