Shopping after 30 and two kids……

So I have been on the workout train for about a year now and I just realized that it is very hard to find workout clothes in my size. I have two pairs of shorts and two pairs of pants. That is it. Now I know that I am not the only person in the whole wide world that is my size that works out and would like to wear comfortable clothes while doing it. I have been scouring the internet trying to find clothes that don’t cling to me like a dryer sheet. Sometimes on a good workout (I have both good and bad workout sessions.). I think about going home, getting online and ordering (gasp) a tank top and some shorty shorts. So then I can be a little more comfortable and less warm while working out. Except I am me and I am wearing one of my two pairs of shorts or pants, an over sized t-shirt and a headband. I am also literally panting from running up a hill and sweating like a pig.  Then I come home and look in the mirror and realize I do not look like Pamela Anderson running down the beach. I have come to the realization that I will never find workout clothes that don’t stick to me like glue and I might have to buy a sewing machine and make my own damn clothes! I am half-tempted to buy one of these outfits take my picture and send it to the company. Maybe then they will realize they need to have some more choices in their collections. I mean what happened to cotton? Good old cotton that doesn’t show every nook and cranny of your body. I did find two cotton shirts that I use for working out they are nice and big and I love them. One day I was looking online for more and I noticed on the website that they suggest that you cut the shirt with a scissors to customize the shirt to your body. Huh?? For one I am not going to cut a $25 shirt. For two you don’t want to see me in a crop top. I don’t even like looking at myself in a towel.

Moving on to other clothing. I am not going to wear jeggings. No way no how. Some people can pull that off but not me. I see too many people who think they can wear them and they can’t. Maybe jeggings should be removed from the clothes menu so people don’t make the mistake of wearing them. Another problem I am having in the shopping department is the see through clothing. I have one question, why? I don’t mind wearing cami’s every once in a while but why should I have to wear them all of the time? Then there are the clothes that have a huge section cut out of the back. Just today I was online and I found a couple of cute tops. Thank God I looked at the back of them. Huge section missing on every single one. I guess I should be working on my upper back so I can wear clothes?? I don’t even know what kind of exercises to do for that.

I usually try to stick to my closet staples. Black, black and more black. I have now incorporated dark blue and a little dark grey. Scarves are my friend. In my opinion they can make a basic outfit look a little dressy. I like tops that cover me up and pants that don’t show my butt crack. I don’t mean to sound like a prude but there are parts of me that I like to keep to myself. I have been out of the shopping game for a while now. Having two kids in a little over a year landed me in the maternity section for quite a while. During chemo I stuck to sweats and t-shirts and I never really stopped until lately. It amazes me how much things can change in a couple of years.  I don’t need or want to wear tops that are two-sizes too big or pants that look like “mom jeans” (remember the skit on SNL?) But I don’t want them to be two-sizes too small either. Recently on a shopping outing I received some help from a store employee that obviously works on commission and she decided she was going to help me find an outfit. After 100 outfits she finally looked at me and said “You must be in-between sizes.” Great. It was nice to hear that I was getting out of a larger size but how in the heck am I going to find something to wear when I am in-between sizes? To my knowledge they do not make half-sizes in pants.

I am hoping that this trend of see-through shirts, jeggings and almost backless tops are going to be a thing of the past that we can all joke about. Until then get used to the yoga pants when you see me 🙂

Leave a Reply

